Activation and perils

For discussing stealth, actions, perils, and plot points....

Re: Activation and perils

Postby Dave » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:02 am

oabee wrote:Assume a character activates on a cliff top, a perilous area. His opponent plays a peril. The character passes the peril, then moves, jumping off the cliff, a perilous act. Can the opponent play another peril? "No single action or move can involve more than one challenge played as a challenge." Is the act of activation separate from the subsequent move (or action) which would allow the playing of two perils in the scenario above? We've been allowing two perils in this kind of situation.


It kind of depends on why the perils are played.

In general, if a player plays a peril due to a perilous area when a character activates then you cannot play another peril when they move through the same perilous area.

For example, if an enemy activates in a swamp (perilous) and then moves through the same swampy area (perilous), the opponent can only play one peril card. In other words, the swamp should only have one chance to impede the character during their activation.

Sometimes, this can get a bit tricky. For your example, I could see a case for 2 perils or 1 peril - but you'd just want to specify what it is before the scenario starts.

For example, the rocky outcropping could be one perilous area and the vertical cliff face could be a separate perilous area. In this case, a character could encounter 2 perils during the same activation - one for each perilous area.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Activation and perils

Postby oabee » Mon Jan 30, 2017 3:21 am

Dave wrote:
oabee wrote:Assume a character activates on a cliff top, a perilous area. His opponent plays a peril. The character passes the peril, then moves, jumping off the cliff, a perilous act. Can the opponent play another peril? "No single action or move can involve more than one challenge played as a challenge." Is the act of activation separate from the subsequent move (or action) which would allow the playing of two perils in the scenario above? We've been allowing two perils in this kind of situation.



For example, the rocky outcropping could be one perilous area and the vertical cliff face could be a separate perilous area. In this case, a character could encounter 2 perils during the same activation - one for each perilous area.


That is exactly the situation: activating in one perilous area, then entering a different perilous area. Looks like we've been playing it right. Thanks Dave, and welcome back!
User avatar
oabee
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:36 pm
Location: Pemberville, Ohio

Previous

Return to Pulp Alley - Actions, Perils, & Plot Points



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron