I'm Alright card -- how many hits affected?

For discussing the Fortune cards....

I'm Alright card -- how many hits affected?

Postby piper909 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:21 am

When the "I'm Alright" card is played, does it cause the character to pass the health check for ALL hits taken in a given incident, or just ONE hit? The card's language is slightly ambiguous -- "a Health check" and also "this Health check." So maybe it only applies to a single hit?
"Brains beat brawn but baloney baffles brains."
"She looked like a million and stole ten times as much."
User avatar
piper909
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:05 am
Location: The Fabulous Kit-Kat Club, Austin, TX

Re: I'm Alright card -- how many hits affected?

Postby religon » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:29 pm

Good question.

I have always allowed all Health Checks from a given attack to be passed, but that may be incorrect. It seemed about the appropriate degree of usefulness of an Action card, but strictly reading it it may just be a single die roll.
User avatar
religon
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Central N. Cackalacky

Re: I'm Alright card -- how many hits affected?

Postby Pulp Girl » Tue Jun 30, 2015 6:33 pm

"When your character suffers one or more hits, they must immediately roll a Health check based on their current dice-type — one die per hit. A Health check is passed if all the dice roll a 4+."

Regarless of how many dice you are rolling, it is a single pass/fail Health Check. For example, if you were rolling a 3d6 Health check - it is a single Health check, not three Health checks.

So, I'm Alright allows you to pass the Health check - regardless of how many dice you are rolling. The check is passed.


I hope that helps. Have fun!
Mila Phipps, Pulp Girl

mila@pulpalley.com
http://pulpalleycom.ipage.com/store/index.html

"I tolerate this century, but I don't enjoy it."
User avatar
Pulp Girl
Site Admin
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:40 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: I'm Alright card -- how many hits affected?

Postby piper909 » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:33 am

Thanks! As always, these rulings are invaluable!
"Brains beat brawn but baloney baffles brains."
"She looked like a million and stole ten times as much."
User avatar
piper909
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:05 am
Location: The Fabulous Kit-Kat Club, Austin, TX


Return to Pulp Alley - Fortune Deck



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron