Pulp Alley Glossary ---

What's it all mean?

Pulp Alley Glossary ---

Postby Dave » Mon Nov 30, 2015 2:57 am

Because we use certain common words to mean very specific things in Pulp Alley, I hope this list of terms will be helpful ---


Health with an * — Whenever a character's Health die-type is followed by an asterisk (example - d6*), this means they are automatically KO'd if they fail a Health check. This applies to ALL Followers automatically but could also be applied to other types.

Action — Moving is NOT an action—it is moving. Fighting is NOT an action—it is fighting. An action generally relates to a non-combat activity that is important to the scenario, like completing a plot point. We also assume an action takes a bit more time/concentration than punching and shooting, so you cannot run and perform an action. If an activity counts as an action then it is clearly indicated as being an action in the rules. Otherwise, it is NOT an action.

Active/Activates/Activated — When a character activates they are the active character until their activation ends. Without exception, there is never more than one active character at a time.

Attack — This term applies in three situations.
1. Any use of your Brawl or Shoot during a fight with an enemy character. Starting a fight or counter-attacking are both an "attack".
2. Starting a fight against an enemy that is not in contact with this character always counts as an "attack" - even if you choose to roll your Dodge dice.
3. Although Bursts are technically an action - rather than a fight. Any effect that prevent a character from "attacking" also prevents them from placing a burst on the table.

Alert — A character that has line-of-sight to one or more enemy characters is alert.

Before and After Rolls — Many abilities may only be used once per turn. However, it is important to note that these abilities can only be used during a scenario, between the start of Turn #1 and the end of the scenario. If an ability can be used once per turn or as an action, then it has no effect before or after a scenario.

Character — Anything that has a Character Profile is a character.For example, a Bystander is not a "character" before it joins a side. Once it sides with a league and gets a character profile, then it counts as a character.

Clearly Win — A character is said to clearly win a fight when the enemy suffers an injury and the character does not suffer an injury. This is one of the common ways to steal the Initiative. It is worth noting that you cannot clearly win a fight by placing a burst in play, because placing a burst is an action - NOT fighting.

Colleagues — Members of the same league.

Delayed — If a character is delayed, then they must wait until Turn #2 to deploy. When they deploy on Turn #2, they follow the normal deployment rules for that scenario.

Director — The Director is a term used to indicate the player that currently has control of the Initiative.

Discard —When the term "discard" is used without specifying a number or type of card, the intent is simply for that player must remove one card from their hand of Fortune cards and place it in the discard pile. If the instructions do not clearly indicate that the card is to be selected at random, then that player is free to pick the card they want to discard.

Enemy — This term applies to any character that is not a Friendly. This can apply to any controlled by an opposing player, hostile NPC's, and so on.

Engaged — A character in base-to-base contact with one or more enemy characters is engaged.

Friendly — Colleagues plus members of the same team, as identified prior to the start of the scenario.

Gadget Character — A gadget character is both a gadget and a character. This means they have a normal character profile as well as an ability/effect that could lead to a mishap.

Gadget Mount — A gadget mount is both a gadget and a mount. This means they act as a normal mount as well as having an ability/effect that could lead to a mishap.

Impaired — When a character is impaired, they must roll a 1 dice Health check whenever they run. If you fail this check then your Health drops one level, as normal. Check after each time you finish moving. As always, any move over 6” counts as running.

Injured — A character that is below their starting Health level is injured.

Move — There are three types of movement - Walk, Run, and Dodge Move. If an effect prevents a character from "moving" then they can not Walk, Run, or Dodge Move.

Party/Team — Prior to the start of a scenario, two or more players may choose to form a party and work together. The characters in these leagues are "friendly" for the duration of this scenario.

Ready — A character that has not activated in the current turn and is not currently engaged is ready. This does not include characters that are down or may not otherwise activate.

Rush — The act of moving a character into base-to-base contact with an enemy is called rushing. It is important to note that any type of movement can be used to rush an enemy.

Slow/Slowed — If a character is slow, then they can not run except to rush an enemy.

Tips Challenge — Before the start of a scenario, you may select one "Tips Challenge" in the same way you would buy/select other Resource bonuses. When you buy a Tips Challenge, you must also select one of your own characters and draw/attempt a random challenge from the top of the Fortune deck. The pass/fail results of this roll vary by card. See the example below....
Image

Wander — Whenever we indicate that a character or whatever "wanders", this means it moves in a random direction. If no distance is specified, then roll 1d6 to determine the number of inches moved. For example, a scenario may indicate that "the Cyclops wanders at the end of each turn." This means it moves 1d6" in a random direction at the end of each turn.

"X" — Any time the rules refer to “X” as a number, this number is determined by drawing the top card of the Fortune deck and then revealing the number in the bottom-left corner.


Please let us know if you'd like to see any terms added to the list or further clarified. :D


HAVE FUN
Last edited by Dave on Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:51 pm, edited 9 times in total.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Pulp Alley Glossary ---

Postby Dave » Thu Jan 07, 2016 3:50 pm

Added today ---

Before and After Rolls — Many abilities may only be used once per turn. However, it is important to note that these abilities can only be used during a scenario, between the start of Turn #1 and the end of the scenario. If an ability can be used once per turn or as an action, then it has no effect before or after a scenario.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3098
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK


Return to Pulp Alley - Glossary



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron