First up, many thanks for producing such a well written set of rules.
The one question that remained after a few read-throughs was the mysterious phrase "When you are ready".
I've seen it in 2 places:
* The "On Guard" card form the solo deck. (Character receives +1d brawl and +1d shoot when they are ready).
* The "Long" Weapon kit on page 34 of Pulp Leagues. (+2d brawl bonus when you are ready).
Ready is clarified in the forum's glossary:
Ready — A character that has not activated in the current turn and is not currently engaged is ready. This does not include characters that are down or may not otherwise activate.
"Not activated" is clear - the character can't use those bonuses during or after its own turn as it has been activated.
"Not currently engaged" is less clear - Won't almost any brawling character be engaged - rendering the brawl bonuses irrelevant?
I've considered a looser definition: A figure that has not activated and is rushed by an enemy can claim ready status, and use the brawl bonus.
This seems a better fit with the brawl bonuses.
Could you comment on whether I'm on the right track with this looser definition?