Blasts & Bursts

For discussing brawling, shooting, dodging, and health....

Re: Blasts & Bursts

Postby piper909 » Fri May 19, 2017 3:22 am

A simple question, but I can't remember if it was ever addressed before (or, if so, why I can't find it again) --

Once a Burst or Blast is placed, does the first Fortune card (random peril) drawn apply for the duration of that turn -- or is a new Fortune card (random peril) drawn for every different character who enters that area after the initial deployment?
"Brains beat brawn but baloney baffles brains."
"She looked like a million and stole ten times as much."
User avatar
piper909
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:05 am
Location: The Fabulous Kit-Kat Club, Austin, TX

Re: Blasts & Bursts

Postby Dave » Fri May 19, 2017 4:06 am

piper909 wrote:A simple question, but I can't remember if it was ever addressed before (or, if so, why I can't find it again) --

Once a Burst or Blast is placed, does the first Fortune card (random peril) drawn apply for the duration of that turn -- or is a new Fortune card (random peril) drawn for every different character who enters that area after the initial deployment?


This is covered in the general Burst rules (p 24) --

A new Fortune card is drawn every time the peril is encountered -- even on the same turn.

However, if multiple characters are encountering the burst at the exact same time, such as when it is placed on the table. Only one card is drawn, and all the character have to roll for the same challenge.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3033
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Blasts & Bursts

Postby piper909 » Sat Jun 03, 2017 4:28 pm

In the Perilous Island, p. 11 rules set, playing a Burst/Blast action was noted as counting as using a Combat Skill for purposes of multicombat penalties. I don't recall seeing this restriction noted elsewhere, in the later rules additions and abilities covering Bursts and Blasts. So is this original multicombat rule still in effect? I have been forgetting all about it until I saw it again in the PI rules yesterday.
"Brains beat brawn but baloney baffles brains."
"She looked like a million and stole ten times as much."
User avatar
piper909
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:05 am
Location: The Fabulous Kit-Kat Club, Austin, TX

Re: Blasts & Bursts

Postby Dave » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:33 pm

piper909 wrote:In the Perilous Island, p. 11 rules set, playing a Burst/Blast action was noted as counting as using a Combat Skill for purposes of multicombat penalties. I don't recall seeing this restriction noted elsewhere, in the later rules additions and abilities covering Bursts and Blasts. So is this original multicombat rule still in effect? I have been forgetting all about it until I saw it again in the PI rules yesterday.



Yes, Perilous Island is the most up to date version of the Burst rules, so placing a burst counts as a -1d multi-combats penalty.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3033
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Previous

Return to Pulp Alley - Fighting & Health



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest