Skimmers = Ultralight??

For discussing the vehicles rules....

Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Scoundrel » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:44 am

Dave what is the skimmers, are they the Ultralight from the GGV book or something totally new, and will their information be on the cards, as it looks like the skimmer cards only have special abilities written on them?
User avatar
Scoundrel
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:47 am

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Dave » Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:27 am

Skimmers are "mounts". Some info is on the back of the card, but you'll definitely want to read/follow the full mount rules if you are going to use them.


HAVE FUN
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Scoundrel » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:56 am

I just remembered, if the skimmers are following the mount rules then they can't fly am I correct?
User avatar
Scoundrel
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:47 am

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Dave » Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:24 am

Scoundrel wrote:I just remembered, if the skimmers are following the mount rules then they can't fly am I correct?


No. Flying is one of the abilities you can select for mounts.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Scoundrel » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:25 pm

Dave wrote:
Scoundrel wrote:I just remembered, if the skimmers are following the mount rules then they can't fly am I correct?


No. Flying is one of the abilities you can select for mounts.


Hmm yeah I noticed, but I meant the general mount, considering the skimmers seems to cost one point and they have 1 special ability I wouldn't think they could fly if they only cost 1 point.
User avatar
Scoundrel
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:47 am

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Dave » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:11 pm

Scoundrel wrote:
Dave wrote:
Scoundrel wrote:I just remembered, if the skimmers are following the mount rules then they can't fly am I correct?


No. Flying is one of the abilities you can select for mounts.


Hmm yeah I noticed, but I meant the general mount, considering the skimmers seems to cost one point and they have 1 special ability I wouldn't think they could fly if they only cost 1 point.


Yes, Skimmers can not fly unless you add that ability or if you get a Cloud Skimmer, which automatically has Flying.

Also, note that all the Skimmers that automatically come with an ability are also reduced to only carrying one rider (not 2).
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Skimmers

Postby rags » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:03 pm

Dave wrote: Also, note that all the Skimmers that automatically come with an ability are also reduced to only carrying one rider (not 2).

Hmm...I just got my skimmers this morning -- Pirate and Lemurian -- and the card for both says: "All skimmers have the Trusty ability." The Lemurian skimmers hold two people, and the Pirate skimmers hold only one, but give +1d Shoot when pointed right at the target. Is the Lemurian card a misprint?
Also, is the cost for a skimmer the same as other mounts (1 pt of any Resource), or is a Gear point now required?
:?:
Thanks,
rags
reports & galleries: http://ragsthetiger.imgur.com/
User avatar
rags
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:18 pm
Location: Rear booth, Tiki Lounge

Re: Skimmers

Postby Dave » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:30 pm

rags wrote:
Dave wrote: Also, note that all the Skimmers that automatically come with an ability are also reduced to only carrying one rider (not 2).

Hmm...I just got my skimmers this morning -- Pirate and Lemurian -- and the card for both says: "All skimmers have the Trusty ability." The Lemurian skimmers hold two people, and the Pirate skimmers hold only one, but give +1d Shoot when pointed right at the target. Is the Lemurian card a misprint?
Also, is the cost for a skimmer the same as other mounts (1 pt of any Resource), or is a Gear point now required?
:?:
Thanks,
rags


The Lemurian card is correct. It has Trusty - just like all skimmers. And it carries 2 riders - just like a normal mount.

Skimmers are mounts, so the cost is the same as all other mounts.
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby rags » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:10 pm

OK, I think I got this. What you are actually saying is that all Skimmers which come with an ability besides Trusty are reduced to one rider. All Skimmers get that ability free, and otherwise cost the same as any other mount.
Doesn't this make any other mount kind of a bad deal, compared to a Skimmer? You get Trusty automatically with a Skimmer, after all, while your poor old horse still wanders around poking its nose into things, unless you pay extra.
Lastly, since there isn't any WYSIWYG rule for Pulp Alley, couldn't you just declare any mount as a Skimmer, or is there some requirement the mini has to meet to be considered one?
Sorry for the nitpickery, but this is how our rule debates often go.
;)
rags
reports & galleries: http://ragsthetiger.imgur.com/
User avatar
rags
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:18 pm
Location: Rear booth, Tiki Lounge

Re: Skimmers = Ultralight??

Postby Dave » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:28 am

Almost no one actually spends points on Trusty and it was only included in the rules for this sort of thing. But as always, players are encouraged to use their own judgment regarding nitpickery. :D

In our games, we only use the skimmer rules for skimmers.

HAVE FUN
David Phipps, Pulp Alley

dave@pulpalley.com
http://www.pulpalley.com/

"Listen, and listen well! The road before you is beset with many perils!"
User avatar
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3223
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:28 am
Location: Perilous Island, OK

Next

Return to Pulp Alley - Vehicles



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron